Nominees Announced for Some of #Scifi ‘s Highest Honors, the 52nd Annual #NebulaAwards, 2017

Competition for some of #scifi ‘s highest honors, the 52nd Annual #NebulaAwards, has moved forward!

“The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has released its nominees for the 2017 Nebula Awards, and it’s an impressive reading list that is once again dominated by women writers.

SFWA Nebula Awards logo

“The Nebula Awards are issued annually by #SFWA to the best works in genre novels, novellas, novelettes, and short stories published in the last year, alongside the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy and the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation. The Nebulas are a sort of industry award, determined by professional authors….The winners will be announced on May 19th at this year’s Nebula conference, which will be held from May 17th–20th in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.”

Mazel Tov to all the nominees, some who were nominated in more than one category! Go to link for full list, or keep reading, below.

Original list and more info about awards process, schedule of announcements, prizes, etc.:

Amberlough, Lara Elena Donnelly (Tor)
The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter, Theodora Goss (Saga)
Spoonbenders, Daryl Gregory (Knopf; riverrun)
The Stone Sky, NK Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
Six Wakes, Mur Lafferty (Orbit US)
Jade City, Fonda Lee (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
Autonomous, Annalee Newitz (Tor; Orbit UK 2018)

“River of Teeth,” Sarah Lee Gailey ( Publishing)
“Passing Strange,” Ellen Klages ( Publishing)
“And Then There Were (N-One),” Sarah Pinsker (Uncanny 3-4/17)
“Barry’s Deal,” Lawrence M. Schoen (NobleFusion Press)
“All Systems Red,” Martha Wells ( Publishing)
“The Black Tides of Heaven,” JY Yang ( Publishing)

“Dirty Old Town,” Richard Bowes (Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction 5-6/17)
“Weaponized Math,” Jonathan P. Brazee (The Expanding Universe, Vol. 3)
“Wind Will Rove,” Sarah Pinsker (double nominee!) (Asimov’s 9-10/17)
“A Series of Steaks,” Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Clarkesworld; 1/17)
“A Human Stain,” Kelly Robson ( 1/4/17)
“Small Changes Over Long Periods of Time,” K.M. Szpara (Uncanny 5-6/17)

“Fandom for Robots,” Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Author) (double nominee!) (Uncanny 9-10/17)
“Welcome to Your Authentic Indian Experience TM,” Rebecca Roanhorse (Author) (Apex 8/17)
“Utopia, LOL?,” Jamie Wahl (Author) (Strange Horizons 6/5/17)
“Clearly Lettered in a Mostly Steady Hand,” Fran Wilde (author) (Uncanny 9-10/17)
“The Last Novelist (or A Dead Lizard in the Yard),” Matthew Kressel (Author) ( 3/15/17)
“Carnival Nine,” Caroline M. Yoachim (Author) (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 5/11/17)

Get Out (Written by Jordan Peele)
The Good Place: “Michael’s Gambit” (Written by Michael Schur)
Logan (screenplay by Scott Frank, James Mangold, and Michael Green)
The Shape of Water (Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor) [already won film awards from Hollywood]
Star Wars: The Last Jedi (Written by Rian Johnson)
Wonder Woman (Screenplay by Allan Heinberg)

Exo, Fonda Lee (double nominee!) (Scholastic Press)
Weave a Circle Round, Kari Maaren (Tor)
The Art of Starving, Sam J. Miller (HarperTeen)
Want, Cindy Pon (Simon Pulse)

The Nebula Awards will be presented during the annual SFWA Nebula Conference, which will run from May 17th-20th and feature seminars and panel discussions on the craft and business of writing, SFWA’s annual business meeting, and receptions. On May 20th, a mass autograph session will take place at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center and is open to the public.

The Nebula Awards recognize the best works of science fiction and fantasy published in the United States as selected by members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. The first Nebula Awards were presented in 1966.

In addition to the Nebula Awards, SFWA will present the Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, the Andre Norton Award for Outstanding Young Adult Science Fiction or Fantasy Book, the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award, the Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award, and the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award.


I LOVE to hear from readers/followers. Thanks for commenting!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.