2020 #Nebula Awards Winners & Nominees

2020 #Nebula Awards Winners & Nominees https://g.co/kgs/w1SJNV

Congratulations and Mazel Tov to all the finalists and winners! You can find the complete list below, with winners bolded.

2020 Nebula Awards


Piranesi, Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury);
The City We Became, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit);
—Mexican Gothic, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey);
The Midnight Bargain, C.L. Polk (Erewhon);
Black Sun, Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga);
Network Effect, Martha Wells (Tordotcom Publishing).


—“Tower of Mud and Straw,” Yaroslav Barsukov (Metaphorosis)
Finna, Nino Cipri (Tordotcom Publishing);
—“Ring Shout,” P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom Publishing);
—“Ife-Iyoku, the Tale of Imadeyunuagbon,” Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, Aurelia Leo);
—“The Four Profound Weaves,” R.B. Lemberg (Tachyon)
—“Riot Baby,” Tochi Onyebuchi (Tordotcom Publishing).


—“Stepsister,” Leah Cypess (F&SF 5-6/20);
—“The Pill,” Meg Elison (Big Girl, PM Press);
—“Burn or the Episodic Life of Sam Wells as a Super,” A.T. Greenblatt (Uncanny 5-6/20);
—“Two Truths and a Lie,” Sarah Pinsker (Tor.com 6/17/20);0⁰
—“Where You Linger,” Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam (Uncanny 1-2/20);
—“Shadow Prisons,” Caroline M. Yoachim (serialized in the Dystopia Triptych series as —“The Shadow Prison Experiment,” “Shadow Prisons of the Mind,” and “The Shadow Prisoner’s Dilemma,” Broad Reach Publishing + Adamant Press)

Short Story

—“Badass Moms in the Zombie Apocalypse,” Rae Carson (i 1-2/20);
—“Advanced Word Problems in Portal Math,” Aimee Picchi (Daily Science Fiction 1/3/20);
—“A Guide for Working Breeds,” Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Made to Order: Robots and Revolution, Solaris);
—“The Eight-Thousanders,” Jason Sanford (Asimov’s 9-10/20);
—“My Country Is a Ghost,” Eugenia Triantafyllou (Uncanny 1-2/20);
—“Open House on Haunted Hill,” John Wiswell (Diabolical Plots 6/15/20)

The Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

—“Raybearer,” Jordan Ifueko (Amulet);
—“Elatsoe,” Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido);
—“A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking,” T. Kingfisher (Argyll);
—“A Game of Fox & Squirrels,” Jenn Reese (Holt);
—“Star Daughter,” Shveta Thakrar (HarperTeen)

Game Writing

—“Blaseball,” Stephen Bell, Joel Clark, Sam Rosenthal (The Game Band);
—“Hades,” Greg Kasavin (Supergiant);
—“Kentucky Route Zero,” Jake Elliott (Cardboard Computer);
—“The Luminous Underground,” Phoebe Barton (Choice of Games);
—“Scents & Semiosis,” Sam Kabo Ashwell, Cat Manning, Caleb Wilson, Yoon Ha Lee (Self);
—“Spiritfarer,” Nicolas Guérin, Maxime Monast, Alex Tommi-Morin (Thunder Lotus Games)

The Ray Bradbury Nebula Award for Outstanding Drama Presentation

—“Birds of Prey”: “And the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn,” Christina Hodson (Warner Bros. Pictures/DC Entertainment);
—“The Expanse”: “Gaugamela,” Dan Nowak (Amazon);
“The Good Place”: “Whenever You’re Ready,” Michael Schur (NBC) [fun series; great Episode];
—“Lovecraft Country,” Season 1, Misha Green, Shannon Houston, Kevin Lau, Wes Taylor, Ihuoma Ofordire, Jonathan I. Kidd, Sonya Winton-Odamtten (HBO Max);
—“The Mandalorian”: “The Tragedy,” Jon Favreau (Disney+);
—“The Old Guard,” Greg Rucka (Netflix)

The 37th Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master honor was presented to:

Nalo Hopkinson

The Kevin J. O’Donnell, Jr., Service to SFWA Award was presented to:

Connie Willis [another favorite of mine]

Kate Wilhelm Solstice Awards were presented to:

Ben Bova, Rachel Caine [two of my favorite authors!], and Jarvis Sheffield